one last August visuals-fest

IMG_0671Visions of summertime travels, memories lined up on a windowsill.

 

Confession: I love my iPhone camera.  I love that I can touch the screen and make magic happen.  I love that I can crop and save in a trice.  I love that I can go for a walk around my reservoir and show my beloved exactly what I saw, then delete, delete, delete.  And I love having the camera, ever-ready, in my pocket.  Sometimes I see folks taking photos rather than stopping to just drink in the photo-worthy thing before them–the Monet at the MFA, the great blue heron in the marsh–and I wonder, what the obsession is with taking that shot?  Is it to prove you were in the same room, at the same water’s edge, with this marvelous vision?  Or is it to have that vision in your pocket, to remember the moment, and to share with your loved ones?  I’m voting for the latter.

Whichever, here’s the some visions of the end of the summer:

IMG_0692Yeah, I do love my great blue herons.

IMG_0651I also love how the light shines through our balloon-and-clouds curtains, every afternoon, this time of year.

IMG_0672I love how the bulletin boards in my neighborhood go dormant in August, revealing these colorful masses of notices come and gone.  This week, they’ll all be full of enticing invitations to incoming freshmen.

IMG_0618Oh, the light this time of year.  I also completely adore the chairs in Harvard Yard. Friendliest gesture ever by TWGU.  Makes everyone feel entitled to plop down and check the guidebook or answer a call or take a nap. I love how the chairs start out in tight circles, early in the day, then migrate around into new groupings, seeking sun or shade, depending on the weather.  I also love the colors, from muted greens to bright reds.  Just wonderful.

IMG_0626A complete oasis on a summery day in the city.

IMG_0624Meanwhile…ah, don’t even get me going.  Just know that the same institution thought this was more of a good thing, and it ain’t.  Note the lack of human beings in this shot.  Too bright, too hot, utterly colorless.  Dumb.  They have since added umbrellas, but still, there’s no urban oasis on this side of the gate.

IMG_0447Last of the hydrangea, extravagant final blooms.

IMG_0619First of the fall foliage.  Seasons shifting.   I’m ready for new notebooks and new pencils new beginnings.

More on that later.  Plus, a haircut update!

P.S. If you’re on Instagram, you can find me there too, posting curious photos from time to time.   Email me and I’ll tell you where to find me.

Leave a Reply

